Crumble

IMG_3298

I very nearly gave up on writing today. I spent the most of today crumbling down my room and packing the bits and pieces into suitcases and boxes. Packing to go home again. I’ve played “moving house” countlessly for the past seven years and I think it’s safe to say that this time it’ll be a while before this happens again. Contradicting feelings of relief and of missing the implications of exploring new places that comes with the packing…

IMG_3270

12am rolled by and I gathered up my remaining strength to fill three ramekins with apple bits, rub some butter and flour together to make one of the first desserts I’ve ever had. I was about 4 years old and it was maybe at Pizza Hut when I was living in Australia. I was still to young to realise that the delicious crumbly bits in my mouth was the taste of butter. Then I went to a British boarding school in Sixth Form and was overjoyed at the prospect of crumble for pudding on a rainy day – only to find they had put rhubarb in it. I was very, very upset.

In university, I went through a crumble phase, pun very much intended at the description of falling desperately behind at law school (when was I ever ahead…ha). I also realised how quick it is toss a few ingredients together for a steaming hot breakfast (yep, dessert at 9am). And I so started “crumbling” everything. Peaches. Bananas. Butternut squash and spinach. I promise you it was just a phase.

IMG_3296

Apple Crumble

1 apple, cut into chunks*
4 tbsp light brown sugar
5 tbsp flour
40g butter
2 tbsp oats

1.     Preheat oven to 190degreesC.
2.     Mix 1 tbsp sugar with the apple chunks and spoon into three or four ramekins.
3.   Place flour and remaining sugar into a bowl and rub in the butter, until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add the oats and mix well. Spread the crumble topping on the top of the apples.
4.     Bake for 20 minutes, until apples are soft and the crumble is golden brown.

*Might be a good idea to taste the apple first and add less sugar if it’s really ripe – I found my crumble a bit on the sweet side!

now, time for bed.

One thought on “Crumble

Leave a Reply

