Fallback

IMG_2964 - Version 3

If there were a Fallback Pasta Sauce, this would be mine – I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve made this foolproof Aubergine Pasta Sauce. Pasta is my number 1 comfort food- nothing makes me feel more satisfied than slurp after slurp of spaghetti, until my greedy tummy just can’t hold anymore and my plate is clean. (Even though I said to myself “oh no I won’t be able to finish such a generous portion.”)

IMG_2926

Everyone has their own fallback positions – our comfy-land where we can fall back into a snugly armchair, wrap a fluffy blanket around ourselves and wishing that could just be forever. This armchair is so comfy that untangling ourselves from the nest we made requires too much effort, and we delay doing so until absolutely necessary. Often, I realise that I’m similarly too happy stuffing my face with comfort food that future challenges are becoming more imminent. In other words, I should move my lazy ass, stop making excuses for myself and Get Things Done.

IMG_2972

Aubergine Pasta Sauce
Prep Time: 25mins
(enough for 2 portions of spaghetti)

1 medium-large aubergine, cubed
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2tsp thyme or oregano
250ml chicken stock*
1 tbsp tomato puree
6 leaves of basil
Salt & Pepper
Olive oil

1.   Heat olive oil in  a saucepan, and lightly fry the garlic. Then add the aubergine cubes and coat it in the oil. Turn heat to medium-high and sprinkle in thyme/oregano. Stir until well mixed.
2.   When the aubergine has turned soft and translucent, add the chicken stock until the liquid comes to boil, then turn the heat to medium-low. Cover the saucepan enough to let steam escape. Stir once in a while so that the bottom doesn’t stick.
3.   The aubergine should be soft and melting in around 20 minutes, with most of the liquid evaporated**. Mash it up, tear basil leaves over it and stir in tomato puree. Season to taste.

You can then add in cooked spaghetti, tossing it over the heat for a minute or so. In the pictures here, I added minced pork (I love my meat). I’ve found that diced bacon and cubed pancetta also works. Cook it before you start making the pasta sauce and add it in in step 2.

*I used half a chicken stock cube dissolved in water. You can also use just water, but I think it’s less tasty!
**If the sauce is still very liquid-y, you can either leave it on for longer or stir in 1-2 tsps of cornstarch or flour. I often do that because I’m impatient.

the Cat, the Fatty, and the Armchair

Leave a Reply

