Should Have

There are many bits and pieces of my life that when I look back I say to myself “Oh I should have done”.

There are a few ways to get over regret. Either you go back in time and fix what you could have done, or suck it up and acknowledge the lessons you learnt from it then burn what you do not want to keep into ashes.

And if you choose the latter, bear in mind –

“I suppose in the end, the whole of life becomes an act of letting go, but what always hurts the most is not taking a moment to say goodbye.”
– Life of Pi

So remember to stop; it’s okay to reminisce a couple of moments, and once that certain pit in your heart is filled you know you have to let go.

IMG_5222

I made this two years ago. And I don’t even like frosting. It was a shame that back then  I was too overwhelmed by all other arrangements to perfect that it didn’t even occur to me to have a photo documentation of the “masterpiece” I laboriously spent two days over baking, assembling, and making a mess of the frosting.

Guess two years down the line I’ve picked up a few more skills in the baking area at least, in terms of efficiency. And this replica was about a mere 1/3 of the size of the original.

Glad I have a picture of the Monkey Cake now. Another puncture sealed.

IMG_5223

That aside, and perhaps without the frosting, the Banana Cake / Bread is actually quite good. So here we go..

Banana Bread

Ingredients
200 g self raising flour
1tsp baking powder
3/4tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1-2tsp cinnamon
115g unsalted butter
80g sugar
100g soft brown sugar
2 eggs
3 large bananas, mashed
3 tbsp plain yoghurt
1tsp vanilla extract

1.     Preheat oven to 160 degreesC. Line the bottom of a cake pan with baking paper, and grease the sides of the pan with butter.
2.     Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon and set aside. Using an electric mixer, beat butter and both sugars, then eggs, bananas, yoghurt and vanilla extract til all are combined. Pour into cake pan.
3.     Bake for around 40 – 45 minutes.
4.     Cool, divide, eat.

ckhsyfl

Leave a Reply

