Baking Withdrawal Syndrome

The number of times these two weeks when I have gotten out of my chair wanting to reach for the scales and the flour, mentally running through the checklist and knowing that I have everything in the house I could use to make a cake or bake a batch of cookies…

…and have sat myself down again. Rare occasions of self restraint.

IMG_4818

So much so that I ended up with a Baking Withdrawal Syndrome. Yes, I shall so coin this term to illustrate my current predicament. I had a dream two nights ago I was teaching my mum how to line a pie dish and to make the lattice top on an apple pie. (And somehow she started drawing on baking paper and lining pastry on top of her patterns…then the dream got progressively weird and turned from baking riding a bike whilst it was raining on Oxford Street. The human brain is unfathomable.)

IMG_3798

This is dragonfruit. Or as Wikipedia tells me, Pitaya. With its skin it looks like this.

I really like scones. I prefer the Traditional English scones, where I halve it by its, uh, longitudinal section, and top it with a massive dollop of clotted cream and jam. Swooooon. I remember learning how to make scones in Home Ec class in school, and that was the first time I was taught the “rubbing in”method for butter and flour.

So I got it into my head to use up the random bits of fruit lying around in my fridge. And came up with Apple and Dragonfruit Scones. 

IMG_4821 - Version 2

I was really surprised by the outcome. The taste of dragonfruit normally isn’t that strong, so I wasn’t worried it would make the scone taste weird. But what I found out was, once the scone was baked through, the bits of flesh had kind of ‘disappeared’, leaving the black seeds of dragonfruit instead. It kind of resembled black sesame seeds. And the crunchiness of the little seeds were a nice addition to the overall texture of the scone.

The tops of the scone were more crunchy than normal British Cream Tea scones for my batch though. Didn’t stop me from eating…four (and a half) in one go. Whoops.

scone

Apple & Dragonfruit Scones
(loosely adapted from a Fortum &Mason’s scone recipe)

Ingredients

85g chilled unsalted butter
250g all purpose flour plus extra to dust
3 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp caster sugar
1 apple, diced
1 dragonfruit, diced
130ml milk plus a little extra
1 egg

Method

1.    Preheat the oven to 220 degreesC. Line a baking tray with baking paper.
2.    In a large bowl, rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Stir in the baking powder, sugar, apple and dragon fruit.
3.    In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk and egg, then make a well into the centre of the flour mixture. Mix the ingredients together to make a soft dough.
4.    Tip out the dough, lightly knead it on floured surface and roll out a 2.5cm thickness. Stamp out rounds (I used a small glass) and transfer them to baking tray. Brush the tops with milk.
5.    Bake in the oven for 15 minutes until well risen and golden. Transfer to wire rack to cool til warm.

It’s okay to dream, as long as you wake yourself up in time.

Leave a Reply

