Teakha Tales #3

Never thought I’d have to wear my Rain Shoes so often during the winter in Hong Kong. Thank you Weather for trying to bring London back to me.

Cue image of a cat staring out at the raindrops pit-a-pat on the window sill.

“I feel old, but not very wise” – An Education

I’m not old. We’ve been told about the use of “old”, especially in a plea in mitigation – if you describe your client as “frail and old” when he is 60 years old chances are the Judge would be older than that. And what impression would that strike. Excuse my sad reference to the lawyer-wannabe in me. Give me one second to beat her up; no I’m not a lawyer. Yet. Perhaps.

I will be old one day. But I don’t think I will ever feel wise. Sometimes you’re made to act like a grown up; most of the time I try to act like one. I will think I’m being mature when I actually am not. The truth is some will always perceive others as being immature; some will actually be immature. But A for Effort, we all try to at least be grown ups. Emphasis on the Try.


(such a pretty cup, which was so hot from the Masala Chai Tea that I’m not sure how she carried it to me. Thank you!)

“If you live your life the right way, the karma will take care of itself, the dreams will come to you.”

– Randy Pausch, from The Last Lecture

Do you believe in karma?

I always try to do good. We always try to do good. I strongly believe that what goes around comes around and I accept that what bad I might have done would be thrown back into my face. At the moment it’s difficult to keep faith that the good will also come back to me. But thank you, friend, for reminding me with this quote to keep faith and keep sowing good. Baby steps. 

________________________________

I made Chocolate and Cream Cheese Cornflake Cakes with ingredients left over from making my mum’s birthday cake (recipe and pictures in due cause). Self control needed…will not disclose how much I ate without even waiting for the chocolate to set.

Melt 3 tbsp cream cheese and 1 tsp butter, and 1 bar of dark chocolate. Mix in cornflakes* until all coated in the chocolate mixture. Spoon into paper muffin cases. Leave by a fan for the chocolate to set.

*Measurements an estimate. I measured the cornflakes by shaking the box over the saucepan until I thought it was enough. Sorry.

one cat too many.

Leave a Reply

