3. Soft Cheese & Apple

I spent Sunday with my parents, and my mum mentioned how each week seemed so short to her now. I’m glad that the wait for our family to spend time together is no longer three or four months, with me having been all on the other side of the globe before.

It seems like the week is only three or four days long; it doesn’t seem like I have to wait very long to see you now,” she said to me.

I both agree and disagree. A week seems to drag by ever so slowly…exclamations of “and it’s only Monday” to a day that begins at 9:30am and finishes at 10:30pm hardly make the week seem like it is only four days long. Yet taking a step back and looking back to 1st September…so much have been packed in these 10 weeks or so I’ve barely had a moment to stop and contemplate on the passing of time.

It doesn’t seem that long ago when I first made baked brie and apple, though a much less refined version in comparison. Inspired by a trip to Paris to visit B while she was interning in “the city of love”, I came back to cook a French meal in Netley for my flatmates. Thinking back, it was during the reading week of my second year, which would make it a good two years ago. And yet, the wandering around the cobbled streets in the vintage Jewish Quarter, drinking in the French conversation (no I cannot speak French despite my attempts) and the Newton’s Puzzle does not seem like a full two years ago.

Nor does an even more spontaneous trip to Boston and New York to see J and D seem like one whole year ago. I realised this with a start on 2nd November (Happy birthday J!). One whole year ago I was getting ready in J‘s flat in Boston to go to her polka-dot themed birthday dinner. One whole year ago I was in awe and overwhelmed by the craziness of NYC.

However there are things which seem disproportionately long ago.

Ski trip was actually just February in my second year, around 1.5 years ago. Was the order Prague, Vienna, Innsbruck? I both know and do not know the answer. The experience of being sent down a black slope on my 2nd ski ever of my life (the 1st being when I was 7 years old) seems to date back further than my Paris trip.

Christmas last year also does not seem like it was less than a year ago. A mini-pupillage, taking my last conversion exam (which I finally passed), attending law firm open houses…I feel like those things, along with the chilly breeze that has descended into Hong Kong this week seem something that is too familiar and that happened longer ago than I perceive.


The Flavour Thesaurus Project
3. Soft Cheese & Apple 

1.   Preheat oven to 170degreesC
2.   Cut off the top of an apple and hollow it out. Cut the apple flesh into small chunks.
3.   Layer the inside of the hollow apple – apple chunks, brie, repeat.
4.   Add half a cinnamon stick and a teaspoon (or more) of golden syrup.
5.   Bake for 15 minutes, or until the brie melts into a bubbly filling.

perception of time is a mystery

One thought on “3. Soft Cheese & Apple

  1. miss you loads, my dear ❤ the time does pass by too fast…it seemed like ytd that you and bear were in boston with me! i just couldn't wait to go home and see you all! let's catch up on skype soon, yes???

    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

