Wholewheat Spring Onion Pancakes 蔥油餅

 

I’ve been wanting to make these for ages. Yet every time I either forget to buy spring onions, or that I’m just plain lazy / was stressed about exam (recurring motif that should no longer resurface).

My mum used to like telling me that I’d be more clever if I ate spring onions as an attempt to make me eat them (I didn’t use to). If you’re Chinese you’d definitely get this. (The word 蔥 has the same pronunciation of the first ‘character’ for clever.) Mums…

But cooking is to destress. Today cooking was for taking my mind off everything. Schizophrenia: one moment I want to be lost in my ownworld. The next moment I’m wailing for someone to take notice of me. 

I learnt the snail-curling technique to make sure the spring onion was well-incorporated into the dough from here!

 

And most of my recipes will be based on improvisation and trial and error…I hope this would work a second time!

Wholewheat Spring Onion Pancakes

Ingredients
Pancakes
200g wholewheat flour
50-100g plain flour
1tsp salt
230ml water
3 stalks of spring onions, chopped at an angle
oil
Dipping sauce
1 tbsp dark soy sauce
4 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1tbsp sriracha sauce
1 tsp chopped garlic
1 tsp sesame seeds
Preparation
1.   Put the wholewheat flour, salt and water in a mixing bowl and mix until a dough forms. Add tablespoons of plainflour if it’s too sticky.
2.   Scoop up dough the size of your palm. Brush with more plain flour if it’s still sticky. Press out the dough either with the palms of your hand or a rolling pin to make it into a flat disc. Sprinkle the spring onion and a bit of oil. Roll up the pancake sideways first, then spiral it into the snail form like above.
3.    Roll out the snail back into a flat pancake form and set aside. Repeat with the rest of the dough, putting a piece of baking paper between each pancake to stop them from sticking.
4.   Add oil to cover a frying pan and set it over medium high heat. My father used to told me oil is hot enough when you see small ‘waves’ in the oil and it’s a rule of thumb I’ve stuck to whenever I’m cooking. Once the oil is hot enough place a pancake on the frying pan until it puffs up. Flip occasionally until both sides are golden brown. Repeat with the rest of the pancakes.
5.   Mix the ingredients for the dipping sauce in a separate bowl. Eat while hot!

Leave a Reply

